The 12-person board is elected by the members of the Public Health Association. The board comprises:

  • President
  • Four Vice-Presidents: (Policy, Development, Finance, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander)
  • Executive Director
  • Four members from the Branches & Special Interest Groups (SIGs).
  • ANZJPH Editor
  • Student and Early Career Professional Representative


The current Board members are:

  • President: Dr Tarun Weeramanthri AM
  • Vice-President (Policy): Professor Caroline Miller
  • Vice-President (Development): Professor Kathryn Backholer
  • Vice-President (Finance): Vincent So
  • Vice-President (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander): Dr Alana Gall
  • Branch Presidents' Representatives: Prof Jacqueline Bowden & Assoc Prof Kate McBride
  • SIG Convenors' Representatives: Prof Aziz Rahman & Assoc Prof Deborah Gleeson
  • ANZJPH Editor: John Lowe
  • Student and Early Career Professionals Representative: Kevin Mao
  • Chief Executive Officer: Terry Slevin



Past presidents

Douglas Gordon 1968 (ASERCH)   Professor Jane Hall 1990-1994
Sandy Douglas 1969-71  Professor Stephen Leeder AO 1994-97
Dr Roy Scragg 1971-73 Professor Fran Baum AO 1998-00
The Hon. Dr Basil Hetzel AC 1973-75 Dr Peter Sainsbury 2000-04
Cyril Dixon 1975-77  Dr Cathy Mead 2004-07
Bob Douglas 1977-79 Professor Mike Daube AO 2007 - 10
Lindsay Davidson 1980-81 Professor Helen Keleher 2010-12
David Christie 1981-83

Professor Heather Yeatman 2012-16

John Jago 1983-85 David Templeman 2016 - 2020
Professor Stephen Leeder AO 1985-88*  
Professor Tony McMichael AO 1988-89  
*1988 was the first year in which the Executive Committee had been nominated and elected by the entire membership