Public Health Association of Australia.gif
About Us
Members Area
Not yet a member?
Find out about the great benefits and and join online

Forgot your details?


The Public Health Association of Australia's Board provides strategic direction for the Association and oversees its management.

The PHAA Board consists of the President, the Vice-President (Policy), the Vice-President (Development), the Vice-President (Finance), the Vice-President (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander), the Executive Director and four Representative Members from the Branches & Special Interest Groups (SIGs).

The current Board members are:

Professor Heather Yeatman

Dr Marion Carey

Mr David Templeman

A/Prof Richard Franklin

Ms Vanessa Lee

Chief Executive Officer
Mr Michael Moore

Branch Presidents' Representatives
Russell McGowan
Gillian Mangan

SIG Convenors' Representatives
Jaya Earnest
Peter Tait

Board members are elected by and from the PHAA membership.

Past Presidents

Each of the Presidents of the Public Health Association has brought with them their own style of leadership.

While they have progressed different issues under the PHAA banner, all have held the PHAA objectives and the PHAA's raison d'etre - advancement and implementation of good quality public health policy - as paramount in their periods of incumbency.

The past Presidents of the PHAA have been:

Australian Society for Epidemiology and Research into Community Health

Douglas Gordon 1968

Public Health Association of Australia

Sandy Douglas 1968-71

Dr Roy Scragg 1971-73

The Hon. Dr Basil Hetzel AC 1973-75

Cyril Dixon 1975-77

Bob Douglas 1977-79

Lindsay Davidson 1980-81

David Christie 1981-83

John Jago 1983-85

Professor Stephen Leeder AO 1985-88

Professor Tony McMichael 1988-89

Professor Jane Hall 1990-1994

Professor Stephen Leeder AO 1994-97

Professor Fran Baum 1998-00

Dr Peter Sainsbury 2000-04

Dr Cathy Mead 2004-07

Mike Daube 2007 - 10

Helen Keleher 2010-12

Professor Heather Yeatman 2012- present

1988 was the first year in which the Executive Committee had been nominated and elected by the entire membership.


Tony McMichael

Professor Tony McMichael
1988- 89

Jane Hall

Professor Jane Hall

Stephen Leeder

Professor Stephen Leeder AO
1985-88 &

Professor Fran Baum

Peter Sainsbury

Dr Peter Sainsbury


Dr Cathy Mead

Mike Daube
2007 - 2010

Helen Keleher


Professor Heather Yeatman
2013 - Current
  Payment gateway by SecurePay